View Gallery

A Death in the Family

Published Date: 10th February 2016

Available in

$0

EBook
9781910633205
£5.99
October 2015
Paperback
9781910633229
£8.99
July 2016

Description

‘There’s no easy way to say this, Kubu. Your father’s dead. I’m afraid he’s been murdered.’

.

Faced with the violent death of his own father, even Assistant Superintendent David ‘Kubu’ Bengu, Botswana CID’s keenest mind, is baffled. Who would kill such a frail old man? The picture becomes even murkier with the apparent suicide of a government official. Are Chinese mine-owners involved? And what role does the US Embassy have to play? Set amidst the dark beauty of modern Botswana, A Death in the Family is a thrilling insight into a world of riots, corruption and greed, as a complex series of murders present the opera-loving, wine connoisseur detective with his most challenging case yet. When grief-stricken Kubu defies orders and sets out on the killers’ trail, startling and chilling links emerge, spanning the globe and setting a sequence of shocking events in motion.

Will Kubu catch the killers in time … and find justice for his father?

.

‘This fifth mystery featuring Detective Kubu is another fast moving procedural notable for its warm characterizations and vivid sense of place. A natural for fans of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency‘ Booklist

.

‘A wonderful, original voice – McCall Smith with a dark edge and even darker underbelly’ Peter James

.

‘Under the African sun, Michael Stanley’s Detective Kubu investigates crimes as dark as the darkest of Nordic Noir. Call it Sunshine Noir, if you will – a must read’ Yrsa Sigurðardóttir

.

‘Detective David “Kubu” Bengu is a wonderful creation, complex and beguiling. The exotic smells and sounds of Botswana fill the pages as well as the changes and struggles of a country brimming with modern technology yet fiercely clinging to old traditions. Compelling and deceptively written …’ New York Journal of Books

.

‘Impossible to put down. Kubu’s painstaking detecting skills make him a sort of Hercule Poirot of the desert … This series can be recommended to a wide gamut of readers’ Library Journal (starred review)

.

‘[Kubu is] the African Columbo’ Entertainment Weekly

.

‘The lovable larger-than-life detective Kubu is back; frustrated this time because it is his father who has been murdered and he is banned from involvement in the investigation … Writers Michael Sears and Stanley Trollip deliver a great story set in Africa’ Cape Times

.

‘The fifth rip-roaring mystery in the Detective Kubu se.ries. If you haven’t read the others, the lovable return characters, exceptional police procedural plot and close-to-home Botswana setting will make you want to.  Kubu’s father has been stabbed and he is not allowed on the case. The killing of an official in the mining sector, plus a riot in Shoshong, soon distract him – and turn out to be connected.  Be prepared for government corruption, Chinese imperialism, bribery and murder’ Sunday Times, South Africa

.

‘This is an involving and inventive series that introduces modern South Africa through the eyes of an endearing protagonist’ St Paul Pioneer Press

Author

Michael Stanley is the writing team of Michael Sears and Stanley Trollip. Both were born in South Africa and have worked in academia and business. Stanley was an educational psychologist, specialising in the application of computers to teaching and learning, and is a pilot. Michael specialises in image processing and remote sensing, and teaches at the University of the Witwatersrand. On a flying trip to Botswana, they watched a pack of hyenas hunt, kill, and devour a wildebeest, eating both flesh and bones. That gave them the premise for their first mystery, A Carrion Death, which introduced Detective ‘Kubu’ Bengu of the Botswana Criminal Investigation Department. It was a finalist for five awards, including the CWA Debut Dagger. The series has been critically acclaimed, and their third book, Death of the Mantis, won the Barry Award and was a finalist for an Edgar award. Deadly Harvest was a finalist for an International Thriller Writers’ award.

Online Reviews

‘… well written and full of twists and turns which worked perfectly without feeling shoehorned or pasted together. The characters are all really well formed and I really loved Kubu, he felt very real and you felt his emotions with him. His relationship with his family and his mother is portrayed beautifully as well and it was nice to see a strong family that loved each other and got on with each other, Seeing a detective with a wife and family that was together was really good to see for a change…’ Life of an Irish Mum

.

‘Is an angry Kubu as readable as a funny Kubu? Most definitely! If you love Alexander McCall Smith’s The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency books, are you going to like Michael Stanley’s Detective Kubu? Chances are very good that you will. To be honest, I prefer Kubu to Precious Ramotswe– there’s a bit less charm and more bite to the stories of Michael Stanley. You can step in just about anywhere in these books, but Kubu’s life isn’t an unchanging one. Start at the beginning with A Carrion Death so you won’t miss one little bit of my favorite– and the best– detective in Botswana. The entire series is excellent’ Kittling Books

.

‘Fans of foreign mysteries with a robust main protagonist, sprinkled with comedic relief along side an affecting murder, you’ll want to venture into this fascinating series’ The Discerning Reader

.

‘……The story line and characters were very well developed and it was a breath of fresh air for a leading character to be normal and not have a dysfunctional family or several skeletons in the closet…The facts the writing team called Michael Stanley (Michael Sears and Stanley Trollip) include in the story are fascinating and kept me reading at a good pace. In conclusion, this is yet another author that I have not heard of but have really enjoyed their book and I would recommend this one to all readers of crime fiction, especially those who prefer the story set away from the UK or the US.’ Breakaway Reviewers

.

Reviewed in BookTime Magazine

.

‘What I love about some of the characters in this series is that the authors make them so endearing…. A Death In The Family is yet another highly enjoyable read with a really intriguing story line that keeps the readers interest throughout. This really would make a great television series and I love being transported Botswana where it’s all set.’ Sarah Hardy, bytheletterbookreviews

.

‘An intrinsic part of the appeal of this series in the strong focus on characterisation and despite being only my second read I feel such a connection with the Bengu family and Kubu’s colleagues. Despite the dark themes, often gritty and eye-opening, there is a real ‘feel good’ element to this series which brims with optimism for the future and focuses on tackling problems and promoting understanding. The emphasis on wholesome good humour in an often corrupt economy is a great counter. The Batswana wear their heart on their sleeves and tensions can often run high and this exceptional series is all the better for it!’Goodreads

.

‘The characters are well-defined but the book could have been shorter: it’s a bit drawn-out in the first half then accelerates towards the end. Enjoyable enough without being overwhelming and not particularly dark – which makes a pleasant change nowadays.I’d recommend this to anyone who wants a basic but entertaining detective novel’ Pauls Book Blog

.

‘The plot was clever, intricate and interesting throughout.  I’m still amazed that two people can write so well together yet make it sound like one voice. Just goes to show what fantastic writer’s Mr Sears and Mr Trollip are! Would I recommend this book?  I most certainly would … A cleverly written police procedural which is full of mystery and suspense featuring some wonderful characters – what’s not to love?’  Damp Pebbles

.

‘It’s a deftly written story, presenting the reader with a puzzle – how does everything join up? – that’s all the trickier to a Westerner who doesn’t know quite what may be possible or indeed expected in modern Botswana. But we are perfectly able to cope with the unfamiliarity of a Scandi winter, and it’s exciting learning just what is going on amidst the heat and dust (sorry for the cliche!) of Botswana.’ Blue Book Balloon

.

‘Michael Stanley books are written with a delightful and charming style yet they deliver serious and powerful messages too … The story moves along at a nice pace, it is extremely accessible and readable (no requirement to have read any of the previous books) and Kubu remains great fun to read about. This was an absolute treat to read and I was sorry when I reached the end – more Kubu can only be a good thing I feel.’ Grab This Book

.

‘There is a coziness to the Detective Kubu series that you don’t get with other books and I love it! A Death in the Family is about Kubu’s grief and anger about his father, but there is so much more going on in the book. There is corruption, greed, power and retribution also runing through the book. Interwoven together beautifully, the authors have yet again provided an excellent novel that most certainly ticks the Sunshine Noir box.’ Bibliophile Book Club

.

‘A totally different type of crime novel compared to my usual choice of British, American or Nordic but it’s great. Still violent death, still modern day policing but in a different setting where beauty, poverty, culture, superstition and fear all make it seem slightly different.’ Steph’s Book Blog

.

Included in The Times Crime Club

.

‘The Michael Stanley duo write vividly and poetically. Botswana is portrayed in all its glory, with its sights, sounds and aromas, creating a stunning setting. I love these Detective Kubu novels. They’re compelling and warming – an intelligent combination of crime and thriller covering serious and fascinating issues.  Ideal for fans of Alexander McCall Smith’s No 1 Ladies’ Detective agency and the Death in Paradise TV series (& books).’ Off The Shelf Books

.

‘A Death in the Family is a great read that’s full of intrigue and delivers plenty of shock too. Thoroughly well-written and packed with convincing characters and settings. Not to mention it’s also a solid little introduction to rare earth mining. Messrs Sears and Trollip ensure that each of these instalments work brilliantly in their own right and there’s no need to have read its predecessors to enjoy A Death in the Family as I so thoroughly did. A highly recommended book and one that rewards on every page.’ Mumbling about Music

.

‘The writing style is gentle and the pace slow to get going but once hooked I finished the book in a sitting. There were few surprises in the denouement but it tied up the many threads in a satisfying way. An atmospheric police procedural uncovering the shadows that lurk beneath an unrelenting African sun. Botswana is presented with much sympathy but also honesty. This is a country in transition whose resources have long been pillaged by foreigners. The addition of another rapidly developing nation, China, trying to take without giving adds an interesting dimension to a congenial read.’ Never Imitate

.

‘I thought this book was full of pace, suspense and has a dark undertone. What amazed me when reading was I had no idea who the killer was until very late on in the novel! The authors did a fantastic job of keeping the culprit hidden with the many red herrings and twists.’ Chillers, Thrillers and Killers

.

‘There’s a lot going on in this novel – it’s not just the mines where there’s digging and buried things being discovered. The story surrounding Kubu really pulled at my heartstrings and I thought it made for interesting read having two investigations with Kubu at the heart of both, albeit in different ways.’ The Book Trail

Reviews