Gunnar Staalesen

Gunnar Staalesen

 Gunnar Staalesen One of the fathers of Nordic Noir, Gunnar Staalesen was born in Bergen, Norway in 1947.  He made his debut at the age of 22 with Seasons of Innocence and in 1977 he published the first book in the Varg Veum series.  He is the author of over 20 titles, which have been published in 24 countries and sold over four million copies. Twelve film adaptations of his Varg Veum crime novels have appeared since 2007, starring the popular Norwegian actor Trond Espen Seim. Staalesen, who has won three Golden Pistols (including the Prize of Honour), lives in Bergen with his wife. The next instalments in the Varg Veum series – Where Roses Never Die and No One Is So Safe in Danger – will be published by Orenda Books in 2016 and 2017.

Titles by Gunnar Staalesen

We Shall Inherit the Wind by Gunnar Staalesen


Stories by Gunnar Staalesen

CLICK > Gone with the Tide

GREAT video here of the Father of Nordic Noir. What a treat!

We Shall Inherit the Wind: CLICK > Gunnar Staalesen