We’ve been shortlisted!

We’ve been shortlisted!

We are thrilled to announce that Orenda Books has been shortlisted for the IPG Nick Robinson Newcomer Award at the Independent Publishing Awards! We’re in great company and extremely honoured to achieve this distinction for the second year in a row (only so long you can be a newcomer!).

Here are details of the other contenders for the awards, and a link to what the judges had to say!

Wish us luck! And good luck to everyone else!


The 2017 IPG Independent Publishing Awards: Shortlists

Trade Publisher of the Year 
Faber & Faber, Icon Books, Oneworld, Saraband 

Blackwell’s Children’s Publisher of the Year
Bloomsbury Publishing, Nosy Crow, Walker Books 

ProQuest Academic & Professional Publisher of the Year
Cambridge University Press, Edward Elgar Publishing, Jessica Kingsley Publishers, SAGE Publishing

Publishers Licensing Society Education Publisher of the Year
John Catt Educational, Jolly Learning, Maths – No Problem!

IPG Specialist Consumer Publisher of the Year
Bradt Travel Guides, Hoxton Mini Press, SPCK

Nick Robinson Newcomer Award
Firefly Press, Hoxton Mini Press, Orenda Books

The Bookseller International Achievement Award
Kogan Page, Nosy Crow, Oneworld, Pavilion Books 

Ingram Content Group Digital Publishing Award
Bloomsbury Publishing, Class Professional Publishing, Faber & Faber, PG Online

Nielsen Digital Marketing Award
How2Become, Jessica Kingsley Publishers, Nosy Crow 

Alison Morrison Diversity Award
Carcanet Press, Cassava Republic Press, Jessica Kingsley Publishers, Oneworld

Ruth Killick Publicity Young Independent Publisher of the Year 
Joshua Brown, How2Become; Ola Gotkowska, Nosy Crow; Emma Milman, Class Professional Publishing 

GBS Services to Independent Publishers Award
Bibliocloud, Compass Independent Publishing Services, Martin Palmer 

You can read their comments about each of the shortlisted companies and individuals here.

The 12 winners of these IPG Independent Publishing Awards will be revealed at a Gala Dinner during our Annual Spring Conference on Thursday 9 February, hosted by author, playwright and speaker Damian Barr. They will be followed by the presentation of a final Award, the flagship Fox Williams Independent Publisher of the Year, which will be chosen from a shortlist that comprises the winners of the five Publisher of the Year categories.